Schedule

Keep on top of trends and the latest data through live, on-demand keynotes and workshops and expert demos over 2 days, 24/7. After the event, the presentations will be available for 28 days.

8:00am-8:30am PST (11:00AM -11:30AM EST)

Keynote

MEMBER & POLICY UPDATE with Gary Sands, CFIG.

An overview of the key issues and concerns facing the sector and independents.

8:35am-9:05am PST (11:35AM – 12:05PM EST)

Keynote

FORMATS AND STORE DESIGN – WHAT’S DRIVING RETAIL INNOVATION?

When looking at retail across the globe, there are clear indicators that the industry is changing at an accelerated pace. We’ll look at the macro trends impacting the retail industry, from demographic and societal changes to the role of technology and the growth of e-commerce to the impact of the pandemic on shopper behaviours. We then provide examples of a wide range of innovative grocery concepts with a focus on examples from small to mid-sized chains that demonstrate what the future of retail will look like. The examples provide a practical roadmap to what it will take to win at retail in the future. Presented by Neil Stern, Good Food Holdings and Amanda Lai, McMillanDoolittle

Amanda Lai

Manager, McMillanDoolittle

Neil Stern

Chief Executive Officer, Good Food Holdings

9:10am-10:15am PST (12pm – 1pm EST)

WORKSHOPS

9:10am – 9:40am PST (12:10pm – 12:40pm EST)

Workshops: Customer Experience

ENGINEERING A WINNING CUSTOMER EXPERIENCE

8C’s Model of Customer Experience Will be Used as a Framework. Presented by Neil Stern, Good Food Holdings and Amanda Lai, McMillanDoolittle

Amanda Lai

Manager, McMillanDoolittle

Neil Stern

Chief Executive Officer, Good Food Holdings

9:45am – 10:15am PST (12:45pm – 1:15pm EST)

Workshops: HR/Staffing

SOLUTIONS TO THE LABOUR SHORTAGE IN OUR SECTOR

BC is facing a labour shortage with close to 1 million expected job openings by the year 2025. The grocery and retail industries already feel the strain. Finding and keeping talent is something that every manager wrestles with. However, some retailers, including Buy-Low Foods, London Drugs and smaller retailers, are securing talent by adopting more inclusive and accessible employment practices. Presented by Trish Kelly, The Presidents Group

Trish Kelly

The Presidents Group

TUESDAY: 10:00am – 5:00pm PST (1:00pm – 8:00pm EST)
WEDNESDAY: 10:00am – 4:30pm PST (1:00pm – 7:30pm EST)

SHOWROOM MEETINGS (any time)

12pm – 12:30pm PST (3pm -3:30pm EST)

MIX AND MINGLE – GALA AUDITORIUM

ALL WELCOME

12:30pm – 1:30pm PST (3:30pm – 4:30pm EST)

*INDEPENDENT GROCER OF THE YEAR AWARDS – GALA AUDITORIUM

*Preregistration req’d

8:00am-8:30am PST (11:00AM -11:30AM EST)

Keynote

THE ENVIRONMENT AND THE CANADIAN FOOD CONSUMER

Although COVID-19 has been the dominant story for 2020 and 2021 thus far, climate change is the defining challenge of our time. How do consumers view this challenge and what actions are they willing to take when it comes to their eating and shopping habits? Joel Gregoire of Mintel will examine how as businesses look to do their part for the planet, the consumer cannot be left out of the equation.

Joel Gregoire

Associate Director, Food and Drink at Mintel

8:35am-9:05am PST (11:35AM – 12:05PM EST)

Keynote

RELENTLESS ADAPTATION HOW GREAT COMPANIES ARE REALLY INNOVATING TO WIN

We obsess over innovation. But innovation is overrated. If you look at the smart companies that are prized for “innovation,” you see that they are actually masters of “adaptation”—of knowing when to adjust, when to speed up, and when to capitalize. It’s not about being first; it’s about being flexible. In this thrilling new talk, Amber Mac looks to leading organizations, many of which she covers for Fast Company, to explore the practice of relentless adaptation. Is your company taking advantage of disruptive new technologies, or simply being disrupted by them? Presented by Amber Mac, digital maverick, entrepreneur

Amber Mac

Writer, Podcaster, Entrepreneur & Digital Maverick

9:10am-10:15am PST (12:10pm – 1:15pm EST)

WORKSHOPS

9:10am – 9:40am PST (12:10pm –12:40pm EST)

Workshops: Consumer Insights

CONSUMER TRENDS

Canadian Grocer provides insights into leading consumer grocery trends.

9:45am – 10:15am PST (12:45pm – 1:15pm EST)

Workshops: HR/Staffing

A GEN Z PLAYBOOK 4 STEPS TO A NEW DIGITAL STRATEGY TO REACH THE NEXT GENERATION

While we’ve obsessed about millennials for almost a decade, it’s time to shift focus to the next generation. Generation Z (people born between 1995 and 2010) is an economic powerhouse that represents a quarter of our population—and is growing. They buy differently, engage differently, connect differently, and think differently. In this talk, Amber Mac explains how to break down your digital strategy into four simple steps to reach this next audience: Rethink Mission, Rethink Work, Rethink Platform, and Rethink Communication. Presented by Amber Mac, digital maverick, entrepreneur

Amber Mac

Writer, Podcaster, Entrepreneur & Digital Maverick

TUESDAY: 10:00am – 5:00pm PST (1:00pm – 8:00pm EST)
WEDNESDAY: 10:00am – 4:30pm PST (1:00pm – 7:30pm EST)

SHOWROOM MEETINGS (any time)

Federated Insurance Education Centre

Access these sessions at any time, available for 28 days after the event.

Education Session

COMPETING AS AN INDEPENDENT

From highlighting local to using your social media channels with Neil Stern, Good Food Holdings and Amanda Lai, McMillanDoolittle

Amanda Lai
Manager, McMillanDoolittle
Neil Stern
Chief Executive Officer, Good Food Holdings